What is the difference between an alpaca and a llama?

At first glance, alpacas may resemble their larger camelid cousin the llama, but they are quite different. Their ears: Alpaca ears have short spear-shaped ears while llamas have much longer, banana-shaped ears. ... Their hair: The alpaca produces a much finer fiber than the llama.