Is having six fingers a dominant trait?

Yes. When people or animals are born with extra fingers this typically dominant trait is called polydactyly. The same is true for the much more rare ectrodactyly, when people are born missing digits. The exception is when extra or fewer fingers and toes are one part or a larger syndrome.