What is a cousin once removed mean?

Removed refers to the number of generations separating the cousins. For instance, a first cousin once removed is the child of your first cousin.

---

Removed: This term describes the relationship between cousins across of different generations. Cousins who are "once removed" have a one-generation difference. A first cousin of your father is your first cousin, once removed.