What's a balsum?

Balsum is an aromatic resinous substance, such as balm, exuded by various trees and shrubs and used as a base for certain fragrances and medical and cosmetic preparations. It can also be a herbaceous plant cultivated for its flowers, which are typically pink or purple and carried high on the stem.