What is a sternal rub?

A sternum rub is a medical procedure in which the knuckles of a closed fist are used to apply pressure and cause pain at the center of the chest plate. This procedure is used to infer the level of brain activity from a patient who is breathing but unresponsive to verbal stimulus.