Why is carrot cake called carrot cake?

Carrot cake is called carrot cake because one of the main ingredients is grated carrots.

---

Many food historians believe carrot cake originated from carrot puddings eaten by Europeans in the Middle Ages, when sugar and sweeteners were expensive for most people and hard to find, so many people used carrots as a substitute for sugar.