What's a good substitute for time?

Other common herbs that you can substitute for thyme include oregano and basil. These are all included in Italian seasoning and along with thyme give it its flavor. Rosemary is also widely suggested as a good alternative to thyme, especially when cooking dishes that contain either pork or lamb.