Why is magic johnson so famous?

Magic Johnson has been called the best point guard of all time. He played 13 seasons for the Los Angeles Lakers and was honored as one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History. He also won a gold medal as a member of the 1992 U.S. men's Olympic basketball team ("The Dream Team").