What is the most expensive animal?

A thoroughbred racehorse named Green Monkey was sold at auction for $16 million in 2009. Racehorses however are a rather special case. Outside of that, the Tibetan Mastiff has an estimated value of up to $582,000.

---

Green Monkey: Auctioned for $16,000,000.