Why are some many elements radioactive?

The positive charges of the protons cause the nucleus to want to explode, whereas the strong nuclear force holds it together. Larger nuclei need more neutrons per proton than smaller nuclei. If additional or fewer neutrons are available the nucleus will be radioactive.