How long do potatoes cook?

Cook the potatoes in gently boiling water until tender, about 15 to 20 minutes . If cooking in a microwave, prick the potato several times with a fork. Wrap in a damp paper towel on a plate and cook on full power for 5 to 10 minutes. You can use a fork to test to see if they are tender enough.