Who sang the original old man river?

The first known recording of "Ol' Man River" was by "Kenn" Sisson and His Orchestra, recorded on December 27, 1927, with Irving Kaufman on vocals. Paul Robeson recorded the song with Paul Whiteman and his Concert Orchestra in 1928, and multiple times in the 1930s.