What is a tobiko?

Tobiko is flying fish roe in Japanese cuisine, known for its use in sushi. The eggs are small, ranging from 0.5 to 0.8 mm

---

Sushi. Tobiko is flying fish eggs in Japanese cuisine, known for its use in sushi. For comparison, tobiko is larger than masago, but smaller than ikura. Natural tobiko has a red orange color, a mild smoky or salty taste, and a crunchy texture.