Do dogs like dog whistles?

Because dogs have much more powerful senses of hearing than humans, dog whistles that people don't even notice may be painful for dogs when abused. A loud noise blaring in your ears would cause you pain, and blowing the whistle too close to your dog or with too much force may similarly hurt him.