How are seashells made?

As mollusks develop in the sea, their mantle tissue absorbs salt and chemicals. They secrete calcium carbonate, which hardens on the outside of their bodies, creating a hard shell. When a mollusk dies it discards its shell, which eventually washes up on the shore.