What is the abbreviation for flying saucer?

U.F.O. A flying saucer is a descriptive term for a type of flying craft having a disc or saucer-shaped body, commonly used to refer to an anomalous flying object. The term was coined in 1947 but has generally been supplanted since 1952 by the United States Air Force term unidentified flying objects.