How do you become a citizen of vatican city?

Citizenship in the country is not based on birth but granted to those who reside in the Vatican because of their work or office. Cardinals who live in Vatican City or Rome as well as diplomats of the Holy See are considered citizens. No one can be born in Vatican City as there are no hospitals.