What is a black cuckoo?

The black cuckoo is a medium sized cuckoo in sub-Saharan Africa. The plumage varies by subspecies. Cuculus clamosus clamosus has black upper parts with grey wings and black tail tipped with white. Cuculus clamosus gabonensis is mostly black with a red throat and black and white bars on the belly.

---

The black cuckoo is a species of cuckoo in the family Cuculidae. The species is distributed widely across sub-Saharan Africa. This cuckoo has a very wide range and is quite common so it is classified as a least-concern species by the International Union for Conservation of Nature.