What is the vegetable cardon?

Cardone, also called or pronounced Cardoon, and Gardoona, is a Mediterranean vegetable. It is considered a delicacy by many who specialize in traditional French and Italian cuisine, and is a cousin of the artichoke. When cooked, It has an edible stalk, and is often served breaded and fried.