How hard is it to quit smoking?

Stopping smoking can be very hard, since nicotine is an addictive substance. So it is both a comforting habit and a physical need.

---

Chemical dependency makes it both a physical and mental effort to stop smoking. Most consider themselves always smokers in recovery similar to alcohol. Success varies based upon factors such as stress and replacement therapies.