Why do rhinos have to horns?

White rhinos, black rhinos, and Sumatran rhinos have 2 horns. Greater one-horned rhinos and Javan rhinos have 1. Whether it's 1 or 2, rhinos use their horns as defense against predators and to challenge other rhinos.