Who was king wenceslaus?

Good King Wenceslas was actually Wenceslas I or Václav the Good and was the duke of Bohemia from 921. He was a Catholic who was martyred following his assassination by his brother Boleslaw and his supporters and is the Patron Saint of the Czech Republic.