How did john york make his money?

March 1551 John suffered losses of at least £4000 of silver bullion, when he and his men were caught trying to smuggle £4000 in bullion out of Antwerp. However, the scheme did not fail entirely, and York brought in large amounts of bullion on which he made a handsome personal profit.