When was asbestos banned?

On July 12, 1989, EPA issued a final rule banning most asbestos-containing products. However, in 1977, the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), banned asbestos-containing spackling & tape joint compounds used on drywalls, & also decorative ashes & embers, & artificial logs made with asbestos.