What is a gisha girl?

Japanese female who entertains through performing the ancient traditions of art, dance & singing, and are distinctively characterized by wearing a kimono and oshiroi makeup. Contrary to popular belief, geisha are not the Eastern equivalent of a prostitute, a misconception originating in the West