What was the world's smallest cat?

The Rusty-Spotted Cat (Prionailurus rubiginosus) wins the title for the world's smallest wild cat weighing a mere 1.8-3.5 lbs (0.8-1.6 kg) and is 14 to 19 inches (35 to 48 cm) in length (not counting the tail which is half the size of the body).