Who sang house of the rising sun?

The House of the Rising Sun is a traditional folk song, sometimes called Rising Sun Blues. It tells of a person's life gone wrong in the city of New Orleans. The most successful commercial version was recorded in 1964 by the British rock band the Animals actions