What is an m. r. i.?

An MRI is an acronym for magnetic resonance imaging. It is a way for health care professionals to generate images of organs for the purposes of diagnosis and screening.

---

Magnetic resonance imaging is a medical imaging technique used in radiology to form pictures of the anatomy and the physiological processes of the body. MRI scanners use strong magnetic fields, magnetic field gradients, and radio waves to generate images of the organs in the body.