Tell me about the hydron collider?

The large hydron collider at CERN lies 175 metres below the France–Switzerland border. Its first collisions achieved an energy of 3.5 Trillion electron volts, four times the previous record. In 2012, it identified the Higgs boson, the elusive particle that gives most other particles their mass.