What is a golden retriever?

he Golden Retriever is a medium-large gun dog that retrieves shot waterfowl, such as ducks and upland game birds, during hunting and shooting parties. The name "retriever" refers to the breed's ability to retrieve shot game undamaged due to their soft mouth.