Who invented phase ten?

Phase 10 is a card game created in 1982 by Kenneth Johnson and sold by Mattel, which purchased the rights from Fundex Games in 2010. Phase 10 is based on a variant of rummy known as Liverpool rummy, and is a member of the contract rummy family.