How long should i sear tuna?

Seared Ahi Tuna is often served rare in the middle. To prepare it, place a skillet over high heat and add a little oil. For inch and a half fillets, sear the tuna in the hot skillet for a minute to a minute and a half on each side, until a good crust forms on the outside with a rare center.