What is considered an insect?

From Wikipedia.com. Insects have a chitinous exoskeleton, a three-part body (head, thorax and abdomen), three pairs of jointed legs, compound eyes and one pair of antennae. They include more than a million described species and represent more than half of all known living organisms.