What was the first spaghetti western?

With his 1964 film ''A Fistful of Dollars,'' Italian director Sergio Leone invented the spaghetti western. After its American release, the film made an international star of Clint Eastwood, who played a sullen gunslinger embroiled in a rivalry between two ruthless families in a dusty frontier town.