Is pepperoni cooked?

Pepperoni is not cooked, but is a dry cured sausage typically made from beef and pork. Curing with nitrites or nitrates is not a cooking process, but uses these ingredients to draw fluid from the sausage while minimizing the potential for bacteria growth.