How much does an elephant weigh when it is born?

On average, newborn elephant calves stand about 1 meter or 3 feet high and weigh 120 kg or 264 pounds at birth. Newborn male African elephants may weigh up to 165 kg or 364 pounds.

---

How much does an elephant weigh when it is born? On average, newborn calves stand about 1 m (3 ft.) high and weigh 120 kg (264 lb.) at birth. Newborn male African elephants may weigh up to 165 kg (364 lb.).