How do you know if chicken broth is gone bad?

Although not a perfect test, your nose is usually the best way to tell if your chicken broth has gone bad. If liquid chicken broth has gone bad, the pleasant aroma will be replaced with a sour smell. You may also see some sediment in the bottom of the container and broth may appear cloudy.