Why is a piggyback ride called a piggyback ride?

In Online Etymology Dictionary, piggyback is a corruption of pickaback, which is likely a folk alteration of pick pack (from 1560s). Pick: a quantity of harvest. Pack: a bundle. So a pickaback was a bundle of crop carried on ones back. Now piggyback is anything carried on the back of something else.