Why do skunks smell so bad?

Skunks have two anal glands which produce the skunk's spray. The spray can cause irritation and in extreme cases temporary blindness, and is sufficiently powerful to be smelled several miles downwind.

---

A skunk's spray is a mixture of sulfur-containing chemicals. Sulfur is notorious for it's pungent and nauseating odor, akin to rotten eggs.