What happens if you give a dog melatonin?

While melatonin is regarded as safe for most dogs, it's still important to talk to your veterinarian before administering it to your pet. ... The biggest side effect to melatonin is drowsiness. It can also cause digestive upset and, in some animals, an increased heart rate.