What's the definition of a charter?

What's the definition of a charter? a written instrument (see instrument entry 1 sense 5) or contract (such as a deed) executed in due form. : a grant or guarantee of rights, franchises, or privileges from the sovereign power of a state or country. The charter allows for unrestricted trading.