What is the average weight of a semi truck?

According to the EPA, the average tractor-trailer combination weight is about 35,000 pounds and most payloads averags about 40,000 pounds. Over 90 percent of rigs weigh less than 73,000 pounds fully loaded, well under the 80,000 pound limit in the U.S.