What happens during a thunderstorm?

A thunderstorm is a localized storm accompanied by lightning and thunder. It may also have gusty winds and often brings heavy rain. Some thunderstorms can also bring tornadoes and or hail. During winter, localized heavy snow showers may also have thunder and lightning.