How long does it take a baby bird to leave the nest?

Small song birds take between 10 days to 2 weeks to hatch, and the same amount of time to develop feathers large enough for flight to leave the nest. Larger birds may take 3 weeks to a month to leave the nest. Many shorebirds or waterfowl, such as ducks, leave the nest immediately after hatching.