Do you cover rice when cooking?

According to rice companies, rice should be covered during the cooking process. However, rice can be cooked just as well uncovered by filling a saucepan three-fourths full of water, adding rice, and boiling until done. When the rice is done, pour it through a colander and let it drain well.