What's chalk paint?

Chalk paint is commonly used on furniture. It has a matte finish. Chalk paint differs from traditional paint in several other ways. One of the benefits is that it doesn't require any prep work—it can paint right over most clean, non-metallic, dry surfaces, even if they're already painted.