How long can a hippo stay underwater?

Hippopotamuses spend up to 16 hours a day submerged in rivers and lakes to keep their massive bodies cool in the hot African sun. Hippos are graceful in water and can hold their breath for up to 5 minutes at a time

---

An adult hippo can hold its breath underwater for up to 5 minutes and a newborn can stay underwater for 40-60 seconds before coming up for air.