What is the nut meg state?

Unofficially, Connecticut is called the Nutmeg State.

---

Connecticut is the nut meg state. “The Nutmeg State” derives from the late 19th century when resourceful but disingenuous peddlers are purported to have sold wooden “nutmegs”