Is a goat and a sheep the same thing?

While sheep and goats have many similarities, their taxonomy (scientific clasification) eventually diverges. Each is a distinct species and genus. Sheep have 54 chromosomes, while goats have 60. While sheep and goats will occasionally mate, fertile sheep-goat hybrids are rare.