What's the doctor?

The Doctor is the title character in the long-running BBC science fiction television programme Doctor Who. Since the show's inception in 1963, the character has been portrayed by thirteen lead actors. "the Doctor" is the alias assumed by a millennia-old humanoid alien called a Time Lord.